Assessment Results!!!

I recently received the results from the July Assessment for TAoP.

The final mark awarded was 66%, which was the second highest in the group. Overall, I am both delighted and somewhat relieved by this result. It does make the hard work and stress of study worth it.

To accompany the final mark the assessors have offered some feedback in the form of a comment against the assessment criteria and a break down of how the 66% was amassed.

Screen Shot 2014-08-12 at 5.33.14 PM

 

While I am pleased with the 26/40 awarded here, the feedback is rather brief. ‘Very competent technical and visual skills’, is encouraging but doesn’t really point to what I could do to improve the result. Perhaps design and composition are the areas, which I should focus more closely on?

Screen Shot 2014-08-12 at 5.33.23 PM

 

I scored 13/20 against this assessment criterion. I am particularly pleased with the comment on presentation as I decided to send 10 prints along with the digital files. This is the first time I have actually had ‘real’ photographs printed for the course and while it was expensive and involved quite a bit of research and planning, I’m now glad I did.

I’m also happy that the feedback noted ‘effective communication of visual ideas.’ There is always a fear that whoever is looking at your images isn’t going to ‘get’ whatever idea or concept you are trying to convey. Thankfully, this wasn’t the case.

Screen Shot 2014-08-12 at 5.33.30 PM

 

Again, a 13/20. I’m happy with the mark and the feedback, particularly the comment about the elusive, ‘developing personal voice’

Screen Shot 2014-08-12 at 5.03.45 PM

 

This area received a slightly higher mark, 14/20, which I am pleased with. I spent a lot of time writing in my learning log about my ideas, thoughts and reflections and while this benefitted my learning it is also good to think someone else had read it.

Screen Shot 2014-08-12 at 5.33.44 PM

The closing comments and feed forward give me some pointers on how to develop my work, mainly bringing more creative/imaginative aspects into it.

On beginning the course I was very concerned with learning the technical aspects of photography and as a result perhaps I have missed some creative opportunities. This is something I should be more aware of as I progress with the course.

 

Leave a Reply

