At the end of TAoP

Preparing for Assessment

I have spent the last few weeks preparing for the July assessment. I spent quite a bit of time tidying up of my blog to ensure all links are working and that it followed the structure suggested by the OCA . This, hopefully, will make it easy for the assessors to navigate.

I was initially unsure as how to present the work for assessment. Should I submit my blog as it stands or would it be better to submit some physical prints? The online option appealed to me for several reasons. It would involve less work, it would require little or no expense and I also have extremely limited experience of what would work well in terms of printing photographs for submission. However, I was also conscious of the photograph’s function as an object/artefact and of what Shore (2007, p15) describes as ‘The Physical Level’ of a photograph’s function. He lists attributes such as the base of paper to determine the texture of the print, the flatness of the paper to establish plane and the edges of the picture to frame and create boundaries. I was also curious to see how some of my work would look when printed professionally on good quality paper. I then found myself leaning towards a submission, which would have all the images from all 5 Assignments on a memory stick but also include 10-12 physical prints. I then approached a Glasgow based business, Deadly Digital,  who printed the A4 images for me on A3 sized matt paper. Overall, I was pleased with how the prints turned out and found it interesting to note that ones which stood out for me most were the two high contrast black and white images from Assignment Two. I gave quiet thanks to Jose Navarro, my tutor at that time’s advice to increase the contrast in these images in post-processing to make the them ‘more dynamic’ black and white.

'distinct, but irregular shapes'

‘distinct, but irregular shapes’

'pattern'

‘pattern’

Tutor input

I have had three different tutors over the period of this course. When I was notified of these changes by the OCA I was slightly concerned that the change in tutor would somehow be detrimental to my learning process. However, as I am now at the end of the module I can now see the positives in this situation. I have the benefit of several different points of view when reporting back on my work and also of when directing me towards sources of research and inspiration.

Next steps

I would like to be able to list the knowledge that I have gained over the period of this module, however I think that this is nigh on impossible due the amount of learning and that I would be sure to forget to list something. When I reflect on where I was at the beginning of this module and where I am now the learning seems considerable.

It has taken me almost two years to complete TAoP and I now realise that had I had more technical knowledge of my camera and post-processing at the onset I could have reduced this time. With out realising it, there were times when I became sidetracked by camera settings and software functions, which meant I tackled the exercises at a slower pace that would have been desirable. This is obviously a major draw back to distance learning and something I need to be more aware of for the next course, perhaps by being more firm with a study schedule or seeking help from fellow students on the OCA forum.

I have looked at the options for the next part of this course and find the new course ‘Context and Narrative’ quite appealing. I like that it builds on elements of what we covered in TAoP such as Narrative while gaining influence from the work of contemporary photographer’s from which to influence my own practice.

Shore, S. (2007) The Nature of Photographs (2nd edition). London: Phaidon Press Limited

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

