Fitting the frame to the subject.

The object of this exercise is to photograph an object and experiment with how much space it takes up in the frame of the viewfinder.

I took a series of 4 photographs of a date palm tree at the local beach area. The first photograph I took quickly, without much thought. The result was a vertical image with the tree placed centrally amidst it’s immediate surroundings.

1. 35mm, F/5, ISO 200, 1/1600s

The second photograph was to be taken with more care. I approached the tree attempting to make the tree fit the frame as tightly as possible. Again, a portrait format frame captured the tree’s height best.

2. 50mm, F/5.6, ISO 200, 1/1000s

3. 55mm, F/5.6, ISO 200, 1/800s

For the third photograph I used the viewfinder to focus in tightly on the tree trunk.  This image shows clearly the rough, uneven texture of the tree’s bark.

For the fourth image I moved back until the tree filled only a small area of the viewfinder and the surrounding area was included in the composition. To do this best I changed the orientation to landscape to show the quiet, sandy area to the left of the tree and the unoccupied beach to it’s rear.

4. 18mm, F/3.5, ISO 200, 1/2500s

I repeated the exercise, photographing an Arabian style wind tower at a nearby hotel. As before, I composed and took the photograph quickly, placing the tower in the centre of the frame using a landscape orientation.

1. 32mm, F/6.3, ISO 100, 1/320s

 For the second photograph I  wanted to fill the frame as much as possible with the wind tower so I turned the frame to portrait orientation. This isolated it from the other building structures.

2. 55mm, F/6.3, ISO 100, 1/250s

For the third photograph I approached the tower and filled the frame with one of the tower sides.

3. 55mm, F/6.3, ISO 100, 1/160s

For the last photograph I stepped back from the tower to include the tower’s surrounding including other elements of the building, the sky and the doors at it’s base.

4. 18mm, F/6.3, ISO 100, 1/400s

Now, I will use the cropping tool on my photo editing software to look for alternative possibilities by cropping these images. I will begin with the palm tree series of photographs in my next post.

Leave a Reply

