Part one- The Frame

This first section of the course looks closely at the frame. It’s aim is to help me to use the viewfinder as an extension of my eye and to compose well designed and well balanced pictures within it.

Within this section I will consider-

  • Looking through the viewfinder
  • Focal lengths
  • Dividing the frame
  • Frame shapes and sizes
  • Cropping and extending

and finish with an assignment on Contrasts.

I am becoming more familiar with me new camera and how to navigate the controls. I have started to look at the world around me with ‘fresh’ eyes as I consider what might make an interesting subject to photograph.

A major issue for me at the moment is the weather here in Dubai. The temperature is 40c and rising with humidity levels which result in a steamy camera which takes 15 minutes to de-mist. We have also had some sand storms. I have also discovered that the lighting in my flat is sorely inadequate for indoor photography for at least half of the day. These factors will need to be given due consideration as I select subjects and surroundings for my photographs. Roll on Autumn!!

Leave a Reply

